14th Conference of the Italian Society for Analytic Philosophy (SIFA), 23-25 September 2020, Noto

23-25 September 2020, Noto (SR)

Shaping the future: What Is the Role of Philosophy?

14th Conference of the Italian Society for Analytic Philosophy (SIFA)

23-25 September 2020, Noto (SR), Italy

Palazzo Carlo Giavanti, Via A. Sofia, 78, Noto (SR), Italy



The Conference is open to all topics and themes in the analytic tradition, and will host six special topic symposia.





Plenary Speakers

Elizabeth Fricker (University of Oxford)

Dan Sperber (Institut Nicod, Paris)

Sarah Stroud (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)


Keynote Address Speakers 


The conference will host the following six special topic symposia:


The SIFA invites contributions for the following PARALLEL SESSIONS:

  1. Aesthetics
  2. Epistemology
  3. History of Philosophy
  4. Logic & Philosophy of Science
  5. Metaphysics
  6. Moral Philosophy
  7. Philosophy of Action
  8. Philosophy of Language
  9. Philosophy of Law
  10. Philosophy of Mind
  11. Political Philosophy



Submissions will be blind-refereed and selected on the basis of quality and philosophical significance.

Contributed papers will be scheduled for a 30 minute presentation + 10 minute discussion.

Abstracts must be written in English and prepared for blind review: any self-reference and personal data should be suppressed. Abstracts should indicate the title of the paper and the parallel session for which it is submitted or a clear reference to the symposium. Please select parallel sessions among the conference topics.

Please submit a short abstract of 300 words, and a long abstract of no more than 1000 words (references included).

Long abstracts should not only contain the position defended or the issue discussed, but also indicate the outline of the argument.

Please select only one parallel session for your submission.



Notification of acceptance is expected by June 15th, 2020


(*) Guidelines for EasyChair submission

The EasyChair login page for SIFA2020 is at:


To submit, please prepare your short abstract for blind review, and save your extended abstract as a PDF file. Then follow the link to our Conference System. Note that ‘Paper’ refers to your extended abstract. Please also note that first-time users need to register as users of EasyChair.


YOUNG SCHOLAR PRIZE: Up to four SIFA bursaries of 250 euros each will be awarded to young scholars on the basis of the quality of the abstracts. Master and PhD students, and young scholars (max. 5 years from PhD award) not permanently affiliated to higher education institutions are eligible for the prize. In addition to regular submission, select “SIFA Young Scholar Prize” among the conference topics on EasyChair and send a short CV to sifaconference2020@gmail.com — YOUNG SCHOLAR PRIZE should be in the object of the email.



NB: In order to take part in the Conference, SIFA members should have paid the 2020 subscription.

Participation in the conference is subject to a registration fee.

If paid BEFORE August 1st, 2020:

Euro 50,00: faculty

Euro 25,00: others

If paid AFTER August 1st, 2020:

Euro 70,00: faculty

Euro 35,00: others


Early registration will be open on: June 22nd, 2020.

Conference fee includes: registration, conference materials, and coffee breaks.

NB: The conference fee does not include the conference dinner.

Registration and payment for the conference dinner will be available as a separate option on the registration page in due course.


Conference Venue

Palazzo Carlo Giavanti, Via A. Sofia, 78, Noto (SR), Italy



All inquiries concerning the submission of abstracts should be addressed to: sifaconference2020@gmail.com

Website: http://portale.unime.it/sifa2020/





Carla Bagnoli (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia/Oslo), Andrea Borghini (University of Milano), Mimma Bruni (University of Messina), Alessandro Capone (University of Messina), Marco Carapezza (University of Palermo), Bianca Cepollaro (University San Raffaele, Milano), Massimo Dell’Utri (University of Sassari), Elisabetta Galeotti (University of Eastern Piedmont), Benedetta Giovanola (University of Macerata), Samuele Iaquinto (University of Genoa), Federica Liveriero (University of Campania, Luigi Vanvitelli), Cristina Meini (University of Eastern Piedmont), Pietro Perconti (University of Messina)



University of Messina, Dept. of Cognitive Science, Education and Cultural Studies (COSPECS), Consorzio Universitario Mediterraneo Orientale (CUMO)